The European Writers' Council (EWC) –

Fédération des associations européennes d'écrivains – (FAEE) AISBL


EWC is the federation of 44 national organisations of professional writers and literary translators in 34 countries including the EU, as well as Belarus, Iceland, Norway, Switzerland, Turkey and Montenegro. 

EWC’s member associations represent altogether around 160,000 individual authors in the book and text-sector in all genres and writing altogether in 40 languages.

The EWC champions the diversity of literatures while raising awareness for both the role of authors in society and the need to have their social, moral and economic rights respected in the digital age. 

The EWC defends the professional interests of its members in economic, legal and political contexts, their right to remuneration and compensation for their works, their relevance in cultural and social policy, freedom of expression, freedom of association, and the importance of lesser spoken and written languages. 

The EWC promotes the need for a wider access to culture, including the production of special formats for the visually impaired persons of the world.

And the EWC remains determined to raise and publicly present the commitment of professional writers and literary translators to shaping the profile of Europe through individual creativity within the diversity of expressions in the rich variety of living European languages. 


The EWC is legally represented by the Executive Board: the president and two vice-presidents, plus four regular board members. These professional writers act in an honorary capacity and are elected or re-elected by the EWC Assembly for the term of two years.  The delegates of each organisation gather each year in a European city and participate in the Annual General Assembly, which is the main governing body.   

The duty of running the day-to-day business and of implementing the policies and work programme has been assigned to the  Secretary-General who is our legal representative and spokesperson, working in close contact with the Board whose members live in seven different countries of Europe.

The size and scope of this continuous work in co-operation with other European authors' organisations, stakeholders in the book and publishing chain, collective management organisations (CMOs), the European Parliament, and the European Commission to name just a few, depends on the financial resources of the EWC: These are scarce, as with many independent non-profit authors' organisations. 
The EWC is currently funded only by the annual membership fees and donations.

The organisations providing financial support are listed on the left column of our website. The EWC is very grateful for this continued support which allows us to carry out our Authors’ Rights Conferences and other events, as well as to continue our daily activities. Likewise, EWC participates in consortia of relevant EU co-funded projects such as ARROWPlus, Rights Data Integration and ALDUS.

The EWC's activities received financial support through operational grants from the European Commission (DG Education and Culture) for the period 1997-2007 under various programmes. Moreover, the EWC is grateful for the multi-annual operational support provided by the European Commission, Education and Culture DG, Culture Programme, through the multi-annual framework agreement (2008-2010).

The EWC-EWC/FAEE aisle’s official aims and mission are to represent the professional interests of the creators of literature: poetry, fiction and non-fiction, juvenile and children's literature, drama, screenplay, core texts for audiovisual works and translation of all forms of literary works, while contributing to the debate on the role of authors, culture and cultural policy in Europe and the world; to facilitate trans-European cultural & literary co-operation,and to advocate for the literatures of Europe, cultural and linguistic diversity, and also to promote the writers' contribution to culture, including in the lesser known languages.

Our mission comprises three main objectives/domains within the European context:
I. Authors’ Rights, including Copyright, II. Cultural Policy and III. Cultural Exchange.

Historical Background
The EWC was founded as the European Writers’ Congress in 1977 (Berlin). Its first statutes were adopted in 1985, and modified in 2003. EWC began a new era on September 21 2006, with its official constitution as an International Non-Profit Association under Belgian law/AISBL. Since 2010 its official name is European Writers’ Council.