EU Prize for Literature

The European Union Prize for Literature: 10th Anniversary Edition

Since its creation in 2009, the European Union Prize for Literature (EUPL) aims to put the spotlight on the creativity and diverse wealth of Europe’s contemporary literature in the field of fiction, to promote the circulation of literature within Europe and to encourage greater interest in non-national literary works.

In the course of the past nine editions, the works of the 108 selected winners have been able to reach a wider and international audience and touched readers beyond both national and linguistic borders.

The Prize, which is co-financed by the Creative Europe programme of the European Commission, aims to achieve three main goals: to promote cross-border mobility of those working in the cultural sector; to encourage the transnational circulation of cultural and artistic output; and to foster intercultural dialogue.

The EUPL is organised by a Consortium comprised of the European Writers’ Council (EWC), the Federation of European Publishers (FEP) and the European and International Booksellers Federation (EIBF) with support of the European Commission.


For more information visit the official EUPL website:

10th anniversary edition

In 2018 the European Union Prize for Literature is celebrating its 10th anniversary. To mark this special occasion a virtual and physical journey through the literary Europe and special a writing contest, exclusively open to all previous EUPL winners, has  been organised.

The EUPL Writing Contest “A European Story: EUPL Winners Write Europe” is a unique short fiction competition that celebrates Europe, literature and – above all – 10 years of the European Union Prize for Literature.

36 EUPL winning authors from a total of 26 different countries have submitted fascinating European stories with a unique perspective. These stories, written in 23 different languages, are compiled in a special publication along with translations into English.  

To download the PDF: 

Selection Process between 2009-2017

In the past nine editions, the winning authors were selected by qualified juries set up in each of the countries participating in the award. Jury members were appointed by national members of EWC, FEP and EIBF and were composed of a minimum of 3 and a maximum 5 members.

The emerging authors were chosen on the basis of criteria stipulated by the European Commission. Details on these criteria are available on the EUPL website.

The EUPL Writing Contest will be judged by both a professional jury and the public, who will each choose a winner. There will also be a special MEPs Prize, awarded by Members of the European Parliament, as well as a special mention for Cultural Heritage.

The winners of the four different categories will be announced at the Awards Ceremony taking place in Vienna in November 2018.

Professional Jury

A professional jury, made up of distinguished experts from the field of literature, including literary critics, journalists, authors as well as booksellers, will be judging these submissions in the coming months and choose a winner in November 2018.

The members of the professional jury are Maria-João Costa (Portugal), Nina George (Germany), Juancho Pons (Spain), Cathy Rentzenbrink (United Kingdom), Liana Sakelliou (Greece) and Marnix Verplancke (Belgium). The detailed profiles of the jury members are available on the EUPL website.

Public Jury

The public will also be invited to have their say. All submissions received for the EUPL Writing Contest will be published in an online publication on the EUPL website, which will contain both original texts and English translations. People will be able cast a vote for their favourite short fiction directly on the EUPL website.

MEPs Jury

A jury consisting of Members of the European Parliament (MEPs) will be awarding a special prize to their favourite short fiction. This initiative is spearheaded by Ms Petra Kammerevert, Chair of the European Parliament’s Committee on Culture and Education.

Special Mention for Cultural Heritage

As 2018 is the year of European Year of Cultural Heritage, the juries will be invited to give a special mention to the best short fiction in which European heritage plays a significant role.


You can find more information on the European Year of Cultural Heritage on the following website: